Exploring Chinese Orchestral Repertoire Series #26


Zhao Zhang: First Yangqin Concerto – Pangu (1st and 2nd movements) Yangqin: Yujue Wang / Little Giant Chinese Chamber Orchestra, Tien-Ku Percussion Group /Chih-Sheng Chen / National Concert Hall, Taipei, Taiwan 2019.8.28.

This entire work is approximately 32 minutes long and consists of three movements:

The first movement: The Present “Toccata” (sonata style)

The second movement: The Past “Variations”

The third movement: The Future “Rondo”

Pangu is the god of creation who gave mankind the power and wisdom to create civilization. The essence of Pangu is love, dedication, and the spirit of never-ending creation.

(Translation: Kiah Mok Goh / Edit: Patty Chan)